Penlee House Gallery and Museum

Penlee House

Built in 1865 as a gracious Victorian home, Penlee House has been converted to create a first class gallery and museum set within an attractive park. It specialises in showing the area’s unique cultural heritage incorporating the historic collections of Penzance Town Council, Cornwall Council and Newlyn Art Gallery.

The Galleries

A programme of changing exhibitions celebrates the skill and craftsmanship of painting in west Cornwall in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

The Art Collection

Penlee House has a permanent collection of paintings which is actively being developed. Some of the best known works from the renowned Newlyn School include The Rain it Raineth Every Day by Norman Garstin , School is Out by Elizabeth Forbes, Among the Missing by Walter Langley and On Paul Hill by Stanhope Forbes. Please check the What’s On – Exhibitions on their website to find out what is on show before making a special journey.

The Museum

Founded in 1839, the museum collections cover 6000 years of history in west Cornwall, from Penwith’s awe-inspiring archaeological sites to the area’s more recent social history. The recently refurbished social history gallery houses a wealth of artefacts covering the area’s fascinating and often quirky heritage.

The Orangery Cafe

Our licensed cafe, with its terrace overlooking the park, offers a range of coffees, afternoon tea with home baked cakes and freshly prepared light lunches, using the best of local produce.

Families and children

There is a varied programme of free, drop-in ‘make and take’ workshops on Saturdays from 2.30pm to 3.30pm as well as bookable or drop-in activities during the school holidays. We also have quizzes and a range of ‘help-yourself’ colouring activities to keep the little ones occupied. Visit the events page for more information about our family programme.


Penlee House Gallery and Museum,
Morrab Road, Penzance,
Cornwall, TR18 4HE

Open in Google Maps

Opening hours

Winter Hours: 1 November - 31 March 10.00am - 4.30pm
Summer Hours: 1 April - 31 October 10.00am - 5.00pm
N.B. Last admission is 30 minutes before closing time